Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |2001 INDEX|
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Luxembourg Government 2001
      Country name: 	conventional long form:  Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
      conventional short form:  Luxembourg
      local long form:  Grand Duche de Luxembourg
      local short form:  Luxembourg
      Government type: 	constitutional monarchy
      Capital: 	Luxembourg
      Administrative divisions: 	3 districts; Diekirch, Grevenmacher, Luxembourg
      Independence: 	1839 (from the Netherlands)
      National holiday: 	National Day (Birthday of Grand Duchess Charlotte) 23 June
      Constitution: 	17 October 1868, occasional revisions
      Legal system: 	based on civil law system; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction
      Suffrage: 	18 years of age; universal and compulsory
      Executive branch: 	chief of state:  Grand Duke HENRI (since 7 October 2000); Heir Apparent Prince GUILLAUME (son of the monarch, born 11 November 1981);
      head of government:  Prime Minister Jean-Claude JUNCKER (since 1 January 1995) and Vice Prime Minister Lydie POLFER (since 7 August 1999)
      cabinet:  Council of Ministers recommended by the prime minister and appointed by the monarch
      elections:  none; the monarch is hereditary; prime minister and vice prime minister appointed by the monarch, following popular election to the Chamber of Deputies; they are responsible to the Chamber of Deputies
      note:  government coalition - CSV and DP
      Legislative branch: 	unicameral Chamber of Deputies or Chambre des Deputes (60 seats; members are elected by direct popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections:  last held 13 June 1999 (next to be held by NA June 2004)
      election results:  percent of vote by party - CSV 29.79%, DP 21.58%, LSAP 23.75%, ADR 10.36%, Green Party 9.09%, the Left 3.77%; seats by party - CSV 19, DP 15, LSAP 13, ADR 6, Green Party 5, the Left 2
      note:  the Council of State or Conseil d'Etat, which has 21 members who are appointed and dismissed by the Grand Duke based on proposals from the government, the Chamber of Deputies, or the Council of State, is an advisory body whose views are considered by the Chamber of Deputies
      Judicial branch: 	judicial courts and tribunals (3 Justices of the Peace, 2 district courts, and 1 Supreme Court of Appeals); administrative courts and tribunals (State Prosecutor's Office, administrative courts and tribunals, and the Constitutional Court); judges for all courts are appointed for life by the monarch
      Political parties and leaders: 	Action Committee for Democracy and Justice or ADR [Robert MEHLEN]; Christian Social People's Party or CSV (known also as Christian Social Party or PCS) [Erna HENNICOT-SCHOEPGES]; Democratic Party or DP [Lydie POLFER]; Green Party [Abbes JACOBY and Felix BRAS]; Luxembourg Socialist Workers' Party or LSAP [Jean ASSELBORN]; Marxist and Reformed Communist Party DEI LENK (the Left) [no formal leadership]; other minor parties
      Political pressure groups and leaders: 	ABBL (bankers' association); ALEBA (financial sector trade union); Centrale Paysanne (federation of agricultural producers); CEP (professional sector chamber); CGFP (trade union representing civil service); Chambre de Commerce (Chamber of Commerce); Chambre des Metiers (Chamber of Artisans); FEDIL (federation of industrialists); LCGP (center-right trade union); OGBL (center-left trade union)
      International organization participation: 	ACCT, Australia Group, Benelux, CCC, CE, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, EIB, EMU, EU, FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IEA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO, ITU, NATO, NEA, NSG, OECD, OPCW, OSCE, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WEU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO, ZC
      Diplomatic representation in the US: 	chief of mission:  Ambassador Arlette CONZEMIUS
      chancery:  2200 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone:  [1] (202) 265-4171
      FAX:  [1] (202) 328-8270
      consulate(s) general:  New York and San Francisco
      Diplomatic representation from the US: 	chief of mission:  Ambassador James C. HORMEL
      embassy:  22 Boulevard Emmanuel-Servais, L-2535 Luxembourg City
      mailing address:  American Embassy Luxembourg, Unit 1410, APO AE 09126-1410 (official mail); American Embassy Luxembourg, PSC 9, Box 9500, APO AE 09123 (personal mail)
      telephone:  [352] 46 01 23
      FAX:  [352] 46 14 01
      Flag description: 	three equal horizontal bands of red (top), white, and light blue; similar to the flag of the Netherlands, which uses a darker blue and is shorter; design was based on the flag of France

      NOTE: The information regarding Luxembourg on this page is re-published from the 2001 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Luxembourg Geography 2001 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Luxembourg Geography 2001 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    >Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)