Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |2001 INDEX|
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Bahamas, The Government 2001

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Commonwealth of The Bahamas
      conventional short form: The Bahamas

      Government type: constitutional parliamentary democracy

      Capital: Nassau

      Administrative divisions: 21 districts; Acklins and Crooked Islands, Bimini, Cat Island, Exuma, Freeport, Fresh Creek, Governor's Harbour, Green Turtle Cay, Harbour Island, High Rock, Inagua, Kemps Bay, Long Island, Marsh Harbour, Mayaguana, New Providence, Nicholls Town and Berry Islands, Ragged Island, Rock Sound, Sandy Point, San Salvador and Rum Cay

      Independence: 10 July 1973 (from UK)

      National holiday: Independence Day, 10 July (1973)

      Constitution: 10 July 1973

      Legal system: based on English common law

      Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Sir Orville TURNQUEST (since 2 January 1995)
      head of government: Prime Minister Hubert Alexander INGRAHAM (since 19 August 1992) and Deputy Prime Minister Frank WATSON (since December 1994)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the governor general on the prime minister's recommendation
      elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch; prime minister and deputy prime minister appointed by the governor general

      Legislative branch: bicameral Parliament consists of the Senate (16-member body appointed by the governor general upon the advice of the prime minister and the opposition leader for five-year terms) and the House of Assembly (40 seats; members elected by direct popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 14 March 1997 (next to be held by March 2002)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - FNM 35, PLP 5

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court; Court of Appeal; magistrates courts

      Political parties and leaders: Free National Movement or FNM [Hubert Alexander INGRAHAM]; Progressive Liberal Party or PLP [Perry CHRISTIE]

      Political pressure groups and leaders: NA

      International organization participation: ACP, C, Caricom, CCC, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IADB, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, LAES, NAM, OAS, OPANAL, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO (observer)

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Joshua SEARS
      chancery: 2220 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 319-2660
      FAX: [1] (202) 319-2668
      consulate(s) general: Miami and New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador-designate J. Richard BLANKENSHIP
      embassy: Queen Street, Nassau
      mailing address: local or express mail address: P. O. Box N-8197, Nassau; stateside address: American Embassy Nassau, P. O. Box 599009, Miami, FL 33159-9009; pouch address: Nassau, Department of State, Washington, DC 20521-3370
      telephone: [1] (242) 322-1181, 328-2206
      FAX: [1] (242) 356-0222

      Flag description: three equal horizontal bands of aquamarine (top), gold, and aquamarine, with a black equilateral triangle based on the hoist side

      NOTE: The information regarding Bahamas, The on this page is re-published from the 2001 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Bahamas, The Government 2001 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Bahamas, The Government 2001 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    >Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)