Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |2001 INDEX|
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Belize Government 2001

      Country name:
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Belize
      former: British Honduras

      Government type: parliamentary democracy

      Capital: Belmopan

      Administrative divisions: 6 districts; Belize, Cayo, Corozal, Orange Walk, Stann Creek, Toledo

      Independence: 21 September 1981 (from UK)

      National holiday: Independence Day, 21 September (1981)

      Constitution: 21 September 1981

      Legal system: English law

      Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Sir Colville YOUNG (since 17 November 1993)
      head of government: Prime Minister Said MUSA (since 27 August 1998); Deputy Prime Minister John BRICENO (since 1 September 1998)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister
      elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch; governor general appoints the member of the House of Representatives who is leader of the majority party to be prime minister

      Legislative branch: bicameral National Assembly consists of the Senate (eight members, five appointed on the advice of the prime minister, two on the advice of the leader of the opposition, and one by the governor general; members are appointed for five-year terms); and the House of Representatives (29 seats; members are elected by direct popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: House of Representatives - last held 27 August 1998 (next to be held by NA August 2003)
      election results: percent of vote by party - PUP 59.2%, UDP 40.8%; seats by party - PUP 26, UDP 3

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court (the chief justice is appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister)

      Political parties and leaders: People's United Party or PUP [Said MUSA]; United Democratic Party or UDP [Manuel ESQUIVEL, Dean BARROW, Doug SINGH]

      Political pressure groups and leaders: Society for the Promotion of Education and Research or SPEAR [Diane HAYLOCK]; United Worker's Front

      International organization participation: ACP, C, Caricom, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IADB, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, IOM, ITU, LAES, NAM, OAS, OPANAL, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Lisa M. SHOMAN
      chancery: 2535 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 332-9636
      FAX: [1] (202) 332-6888
      consulate(s) general: Los Angeles

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Carolyn CURIEL
      embassy: 29 Gabourel Lane and Hutson Street, Belize City
      mailing address: P. O. Box 286, Unit 7401, APO AA 34025
      telephone: [501] (2) 77161
      FAX: [501] (2) 30802

      Flag description: blue with a narrow red stripe along the top and the bottom edges; centered is a large white disk bearing the coat of arms; the coat of arms features a shield flanked by two workers in front of a mahogany tree with the related motto SUB UMBRA FLOREO (I Flourish in the Shade) on a scroll at the bottom, all encircled by a green garland

      NOTE: The information regarding Belize on this page is re-published from the 2001 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Belize Government 2001 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Belize Government 2001 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    >Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)