Guyana Government 2001 - Flags, Maps, Economy, Geography, Climate, Natural Resources, Current Issues, International Agreements, Population, Social Statistics, Political System
Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |2001 INDEX|
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Guyana Government 2001

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Co-operative Republic of Guyana
      conventional short form: Guyana
      former: British Guiana

      Government type: republic within the Commonwealth

      Capital: Georgetown

      Administrative divisions: 10 regions; Barima-Waini, Cuyuni-Mazaruni, Demerara-Mahaica, East Berbice-Corentyne, Essequibo Islands-West Demerara, Mahaica-Berbice, Pomeroon-Supenaam, Potaro-Siparuni, Upper Demerara-Berbice, Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo

      Independence: 26 May 1966 (from UK)

      National holiday: Republic Day, 23 February (1970)

      Constitution: 6 October 1980

      Legal system: based on English common law with certain admixtures of Roman-Dutch law; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: President Bharrat JAGDEO (since 11 August 1999); note - assumed presidency after resignation of President JAGAN
      head of government: Prime Minister Samuel HINDS (since NA December 1997)
      cabinet: Cabinet of Ministers appointed by the president, responsible to the legislature
      elections: president elected by the majority party in the National Assembly following legislative elections, which must be held at least every five years; elections last held 19 March 2001 (next to be held NA); prime minister appointed by the president
      election results: President Bharrat JAGDEO reelected; percent of legislative vote - NA%

      Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly (65 seats, 53 elected by popular vote, 10 elected by the ten Regional Democratic Councils, and 2 elected by the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs; members serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 19 March 2001 (next to be held NA March 2006)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - PPP/C 34, PNC 27, GAP and WPA 2, ROAR 1, TUF 1

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court of Judicature; Judicial Court of Appeal; High Court

      Political parties and leaders: Alliance for Guyana or AFG (includes Guyana Labor Party or GLP and Working People's Alliance or WPA [Rupert ROOPNARINE]; Guyana Action Party or GAP [leader NA]; Guyana Labor Party or GLP [leader NA]; People's National Congress or PNC [Hugh Desmond HOYTE]; People's Progressive Party or PPP [Janet JAGEN]; Rise, Organize and Rebuild or ROAR [Ravi DEV]; The United Force or TUF [Manzoor NADIR]; Working People's Alliance or WPA [Rupert ROOPARNINE]

      Political pressure groups and leaders: Civil Liberties Action Committee or CLAC; Guyana Council of Indian Organizations or GCIO; Rise, Organize and Rebuild or ROAR [Ravi DEV]; Trades Union Congress or TUC
      note: the GCIO and the CLAC are small and active but not well organized

      International organization participation: ACP, C, Caricom, CCC, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IADB, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, ISO (subscriber), ITU, LAES, NAM, OAS, OIC, OPANAL, OPCW, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Dr. Ali Odeen ISHMAEL
      chancery: 2490 Tracy Place NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 265-6900
      consulate(s) general: New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Ronald D. GODARD
      embassy: 100 Young and Duke Streets, Kingston, Georgetown
      mailing address: P. O. Box 10507, Georgetown
      telephone: [592] (2) 54900 through 54909, 57960 through 57969
      FAX: [592] (2) 58497

      Flag description: green, with a red isosceles triangle (based on the hoist side) superimposed on a long, yellow arrowhead; there is a narrow, black border between the red and yellow, and a narrow, white border between the yellow and the green

      NOTE: The information regarding Guyana on this page is re-published from the 2001 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Guyana Government 2001 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Guyana Government 2001 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    >Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)