Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |2001 INDEX|
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Norway Government 2001

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Kingdom of Norway
      conventional short form: Norway
      local long form: Kongeriket Norge
      local short form: Norge

      Government type: constitutional monarchy

      Capital: Oslo

      Administrative divisions: 19 provinces (fylker, singular - fylke); Akershus, Aust-Agder, Buskerud, Finnmark, Hedmark, Hordaland, More og Romsdal, Nordland, Nord-Trondelag, Oppland, Oslo, Ostfold, Rogaland, Sogn og Fjordane, Sor-Trondelag, Telemark, Troms, Vest-Agder, Vestfold

      Dependent areas: Bouvet Island, Jan Mayen, Svalbard

      Independence: 7 June 1905 Norway declared the union with Sweden dissolved; 26 October 1905 Sweden agreed to the repeal of the union

      National holiday: Constitution Day, 17 May (1814); note - 17 May 1814 is the date of independence from Sweden, 7 June 1905 is the date Norway declared the union with Sweden was dissolved

      Constitution: 17 May 1814, modified in 1884

      Legal system: mixture of customary law, civil law system, and common law traditions; Supreme Court renders advisory opinions to legislature when asked; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations

      Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: King HARALD V (since 17 January 1991); Heir Apparent Crown Prince HAAKON MAGNUS, son of the monarch (born 20 July 1973)
      head of government: Prime Minister Jens STOLTENBERG (since 17 March 2000)
      cabinet: State Council appointed by the monarch with the approval of the Parliament
      elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; following parliamentary elections, the leader of the largest party or leader of a coalition is usually appointed prime minister by the monarch with the approval of the Parliament

      Legislative branch: modified unicameral Parliament or Storting which, for certain purposes, divides itself into two chambers (165 seats; members are elected by popular vote by proportional representation to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 15 September 1997 (next to be held 10 September 2001)
      election results: percent of vote by party - Labor Party 35%, Center Party 7.9%, Conservative Party 14.3%, Christian People's Party 13.7%, Socialist Left Party 6%, Progress Party 15.3%, Liberal Party 4.4%, other parties 1.6%; seats by party - Labor Party 65, Center Party 11, Conservative Party 23, Christian People's Party 25, Socialist Left Party 9, Progress Party 25, Liberal Party 6, other parties 1
      note: for certain purposes, the Parliament divides itself into two chambers and elects one-fourth of its membership to an upper house or Lagting

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court or Hoyesterett (justices appointed by the monarch)

      Political parties and leaders: Center Party [Odd Roger ENOKSEN]; Christian People's Party [Kiell Magne BONDEVIK]; Conservative Party [Jan PETERSEN]; Labor Party [Jens STOLTENBERG]; Liberal Party [Lars SPONHEIM]; Progress Party [Carl I. HAGEN]; Socialist Left Party [Kristin HALVORSEN]

      Political pressure groups and leaders: NA

      International organization participation: AfDB, AsDB, Australia Group, BIS, CBSS, CCC, CE, CERN, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, EFTA, ESA, FAO, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IEA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO, ITU, MINURSO, NAM (guest), NATO, NC, NEA, NIB, NSG, OAS (observer), OECD, OPCW, OSCE, PCA, UN, UN Security Council (temporary), UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNMEE, UNMIBH, UNMIK, UNMOP, UNTAET, UNTSO, UPU, WEU (associate), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO, ZC

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Knut VOLLEBAEK
      chancery: 2720 34th Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 333-6000
      FAX: [1] (202) 337-0870
      consulate(s) general: Houston, Miami, Minneapolis, New York, and San Francisco

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Robin Chandler DUKE
      embassy: Drammensveien 18, 0244 Oslo
      mailing address: PSC 69, Box 1000, APO AE 09707
      telephone: [47] (22) 44 85 50
      FAX: [47] (22) 43 07 77

      Flag description: red with a blue cross outlined in white that extends to the edges of the flag; the vertical part of the cross is shifted to the hoist side in the style of the Dannebrog (Danish flag)

      NOTE: The information regarding Norway on this page is re-published from the 2001 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Norway Government 2001 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Norway Government 2001 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    >Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)