Saint Helena Government 2001 - Flags, Maps, Economy, Geography, Climate, Natural Resources, Current Issues, International Agreements, Population, Social Statistics, Political System
Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |2001 INDEX|
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Saint Helena Government 2001

      Country name:
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Saint Helena

      Dependency status: overseas territory of the UK

      Government type: NA

      Capital: Jamestown

      Administrative divisions: 1 administrative area and 2 dependencies*; Ascension*, Saint Helena, Tristan da Cunha*

      Independence: none (overseas territory of the UK)

      National holiday: Birthday of Queen ELIZABETH II, second Saturday in June (1926)

      Constitution: 1 January 1989

      Legal system: NA

      Suffrage: NA years of age

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952)
      head of government: Governor and Commander in Chief David HOLLAMBY (since NA June 1999)
      cabinet: Executive Council consists of the governor, two ex officio officers, and six elected members of the Legislative Council
      elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; governor is appointed by the monarch

      Legislative branch: unicameral Legislative Council (15 seats, including the speaker, 3 ex officio and 12 elected members; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 9 July 1997 (next to be held NA August 2001)
      election results: percent of vote - NA%; seats - independents 15

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court; Magistrate's Court; Small Debts Court; Juvenile Court

      Political parties and leaders: none

      Political pressure groups and leaders: none

      International organization participation: ICFTU

      Diplomatic representation in the US: none (overseas territory of the UK)

      Diplomatic representation from the US: none (overseas territory of the UK)

      Flag description: blue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Saint Helenian shield centered on the outer half of the flag; the shield features a rocky coastline and three-masted sailing ship

      NOTE: The information regarding Saint Helena on this page is re-published from the 2001 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Saint Helena Government 2001 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Saint Helena Government 2001 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    >Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)