Solomon Islands Government 2001 - Flags, Maps, Economy, Geography, Climate, Natural Resources, Current Issues, International Agreements, Population, Social Statistics, Political System
Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |2001 INDEX|
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Solomon Islands Government 2001

      Country name:
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Solomon Islands
      former: British Solomon Islands

      Government type: parliamentary democracy

      Capital: Honiara

      Administrative divisions: 7 provinces and 1 town*; Central, Guadalcanal, Honiara*, Isabel, Makira, Malaita, Temotu, Western; note - there may be two new provinces of Choiseul (Lauru) and Rennell/Bellona and the administrative unit of Honiara may have been abolished

      Independence: 7 July 1978 (from UK)

      National holiday: Independence Day, 7 July (1978)

      Constitution: 7 July 1978

      Legal system: English common law

      Suffrage: 21 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Father John LAPLI (since NA 1999)
      head of government: Prime Minister Mannaseh Damukana SOGAVARE (since 1 July 2000); Assistant Prime Minister Nathaniel WAENA (since 1 July 2000); Deputy Prime Minister Allan KEMAKEZA (since 1 July 2000); note - Prime Minister Bartholomew ULUFA'ALU was forced to resign his position in June 2000 following the armed takeover of the capital by elements supporting the opposition parties; Mannaseh Damukana SOGAVARE, who had been opposition leader, was then elected prime minister at a sitting of National Parliament on 30 June 2000
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister from among the members of Parliament
      elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch on the advice of Parliament for up to five years; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or the leader of a majority coalition is usually elected prime minister by Parliament; deputy prime minister appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister from among the members of Parliament

      Legislative branch: unicameral National Parliament (50 seats; members elected from single member constituencies by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 6 August 1997 (next to be held by August 2001)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - GNUR 21, PAP 7, NAPSI 5, SILP 4, UP 4, independents 6, other 3

      Judicial branch: Court of Appeal

      Political parties and leaders: there are two main coalitions - Coalition for National Unity, Reconciliation, and Peace or CNURP and Alliance for Change; the CNURP took power on 30 June 2000, it comprises members of the Liberal Party, People's Alliance Party, and the United Party, as well as a number of independents; the Alliance for Change, represents the former government and now is the opposition; in general, Solomon Islands politics is characterized by fluid coalitions; Group for National Unity and Reconciliation or GNUR [leader NA]; Liberal Party [Bartholomew ULUFA'ALU]; National Action Party of Solomon Islands or NAPSI [Francis SAEMALA]; People's Alliance Party or PAP [George LEPPING]; People's Progressive Party [Mannaseh Damukana SOGAVARE]; Solomon Islands Labor Party or SILP [Joses TUHANUKU]; United Party or UP [leader NA]

      Political pressure groups and leaders: NA

      International organization participation: ACP, AsDB, C, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), IOC, ITU, Sparteca, SPC, SPF, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador (vacant); Charge d'Affaires ad interim Jeremiah MANELE
      chancery: 800 Second Avenue, Suite 400L, New York, NY 10017
      telephone: [1] (212) 599-6192, 6193
      FAX: [1] (212) 661-8925

      Diplomatic representation from the US: the US does not have an embassy in Solomon Islands (embassy closed July 1993); the ambassador to Papua New Guinea is accredited to the Solomon Islands

      Flag description: divided diagonally by a thin yellow stripe from the lower hoist-side corner; the upper triangle (hoist side) is blue with five white five-pointed stars arranged in an X pattern; the lower triangle is green

      NOTE: The information regarding Solomon Islands on this page is re-published from the 2001 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Solomon Islands Government 2001 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Solomon Islands Government 2001 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    >Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)